top of page

NO Focusing on Negatives

If you're a vintage lover like myself or perhaps a photographer, I'm sure you can appreciate the artistry of a black and white photo. There's something about the lack of color in a picture, just the pure essence of the "thing" being captures, is perfect in every way without the added enhancement of fiters, brightness, contrast, blending, and developing.

Before I gave my life to Christ, I enjoyed the "negative space" similar to the areas of this photo. I lacked personality, identity, and belonging. Foolishly I looked to others for identity and clarity. Always looking to friends and family for approval whether it was which school I should attend, which color to dye my hair, or how many "bundles" they thought I should purchase to further devalue my worth. Don't get me wrong from time to time I add hair extensions, braids, or wigs to change it up a bit but adding these features to my scalp will not distract from the lack of knowldege and understanding of my heavenly father underneath. Underneath that 20,22,24 inch bundle of some ''synthetic brazillian'' princess, is a woman who was lost, hurting and looking to be loved. Underneath the false lashes and FOREVER 21 9.80 body con dress was a soul that was searching.I thought I coud find those things in the free before 11:00pm line. . .and the countless amounts of 2 for 5 coconut Amsterdam bottles that was turned up to the ceiling of my home for the pre-party turn up!! Many nights stumbling into my 1 Bedroom apartment, falling into my bed, still feeling empty even though my bloodstream was full of poison and lonliness.

God gave me chances after chances to choose him and I continuously refused to give my life to him. I can laugh now, but THEN, I couldn't imagine giving my life fully to God. How selfish of you woman! How can you declare that this is "your life." God gives us life and yet WE determine what WE want to do with it. Funny right? The very creator of the universe can't possibly know how to direct my life. Right? WRONGGGG! Lies baby! Once I gave my life to Jesus everything made sense. I had a new found joy that I couldn't explain. I had a praise in my spirit that wasn't shy and timid but bold and boisterous. No longer was there a girl searching for her existence but a woman following God's will and purpose for her life, Now, you have a woman after God's own heart. Be encouraged sis, you can experience so much more to life that the "negative space" in a black and white photo, beautiful in every way there's still a mystery behind the dark spots. Let God bring light into those dark spaces in your life. Let Christ illuminate your spirit so then HE may light your pathway to righteousness. Turn away from your dark past sis. God has a bright future for you, if only you would give yourself to him, not part of you, God requires total submission.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page